The Love Affair of Content and Design

The current project that I am working on is an existing website, that in my opinion is equivalent to a compilation of PDF’s. The amount of content is overwhelming! I come from a design background and therefore am naturally inclined to want pretty to be priority.

This led me to reading many articles ranting the popular phase ” Content is King”. I wanted to grasp the argument of these word lovers. This is my conclusion:

We all know that old saying “If a tree falls in the forest and know is around to hear it does it make a sound?” Well that’s my question with content.

I love content. It is the the substance of the webpage. But if all this powerful content is there and because of the lack of design no one reads it, is it powerful at all?

For me it is simple.  Design is the language that enables a user/interface conversation, the content.


Leave a comment